In spite of advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this case? What can be done about this problem?

Science and technologies paved a way for many achievements in such archaic industries as crop production and livestock breeding, which at the same time has not eradicated the problem of food dearth in various regions. In this essay I will try to elucidate the issues that may cause this disparity in food supply and find some ways to tackle the problem. Firstly, there is a yawning gap in capitalization and economical development of different countries around the world which leads to an increasing concentration of finances and resources within a small scope of world industrial leaders. Impoverished countries are unable to modernize their agricultural sector and thus get stuck with outdated methods and technologies. On the other hand, the low efficiency of the agricultural sector, if compared to the mass production and service sector, impedes its development. The reasons for this are low technological level, traditions-based approaches and heavy climate dependence, but simultaneously the prices for food are often supposed to be restricted to a plausible level. Being a low-profit industry, agriculture needs to be supported on a governmental level. This can be done through the recombination of financial flows, appropriate tax level and wise price policy. At the same time subsidizing technological advances is crucial, as it increases the efficiency and profitability of the industry overall. Summing up, inequality at the financial and economical level of different regions causes a lot of problems concerning food consumption. Thoughtful governmental policy and international cooperation might eliminate these issues or at least diminish them to a reasonable level.