It is important for people to take risks, in both their professional lives and personal lives. Do the advantages of taking these risks outweigh the disadvantages?

Evidence suggests that taking risks in work and life is essential for people. Although there are a number of drawbacks involved in this belief, the benefits accruing to this are by no means negligible. On the plus side, the advantages of taking risks in personal and working life are manifold. To begin with, taking risk provides more opportunities for employees in a short period of time which help them to get a job promotion. For instance, when a person takes responsibility for new challenging work, his abilities and skills are likely to be improved. Moreover, the more risk people take, the more confident they feel in life which leads to more life satisfaction. This in turn will help people to overcome their permanent fears. However, the downsides cannot be ignored. The most axiomatic argument is concerned with the loss of valuable possessions. Simply put, if people take a risk in crucial situations and make a high-risk decision the result will probably be irreversible damage. that is to say, when people invest their capital in something, they may get failed and lose their wealth. Furthermore, taking a risky decision in personal life may cause disagreement between family members. For instance, when parents squander the family money, they can not meet the needs of the children and this will lead to dissatisfaction in the whole family. To conclude, taking risks in life can be both rewarding and problematic. However, as per my contention, merits transcend demerits due to the above-explained justification.