Some people think the role of parents is to discipline their children and teach them about right and wrong. Other people consider that the main responsibility of parents is to nurture their children and provide them a Safe environment to grow up in. Discuss both sides and give your opinion?

There is an argument about whether the role of parents is to teach their children discipline and the ability to distinguish right from wrong or provide a safe environment to grow up. I believe that these two mentioned roles are not separable and they need to take into account at the same time. A group of people are of the opinion that families play a major role in the behaviour and personality of their children. It is undebatable that children who are well-behaved and well-disciplined will be more thrive than those who have opposite personalities and characters. So, parents need to have their children nurtured by paying attention to the positive atmosphere of their home since children are influenced by their parent's behaviour. For example, offsprings who are growing up in a family whose members are criminals in any ways, are most likely to be an offender as well in the future. On the other hand, others believe that the most important role of parents is that provide a safe environment for their children to have a stable upbringing. To clarify, the more unstressful the environment children have, the fewer mental problems they have. Therefore, by paying attention to the environment of offspring, parents can prevent a large number of unpredictable difficulties that their children might experience. For instance, many diseases could be prevented by having children in a high sanitation neighbourhood and quality of food. In my personal view, these two arguments are inseparable because the whole duty of parents is that keep children safe and teach them to be important members of society. So it is impossible to skip one of these responsibilities, since they complete each other. In summary, there are different notions about the responsibility of parents regarding teaching their children discipline or just providing a safe environment to grow them. My personal idea is that both of these states are equally important.