There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

When it comes to education, there are several topics that divide opinions throughout the population as whether non-academic subjects should be part of primary education or not. I absolutely disagree that children's education should be exclusively academic and therefore, in my opinion, the non-academic subjects should not be excluded from the school syllabus. Firstly it is undebatable that society is facing historic high pressure on academic grades, and I do believe that it is important to give youth incentives to develop academic knowledge and analytical skills. However, more than ever, creativity is one of the most important skills that individuals can have, because it gives them the ability to solve problems and this skill is developed, more efficiently, when students are submitted to non-academic subjects that stimulates the left side of the brain. In addition, it is well known that society is going through an unprecedented mental health crisis with a high levels of depression not only in adults but also in young children as a consequence of the stress undergone by them to keep up with a heavy academic workload at the same time that eliminates any joy that could be found on alternative activities such as cookery, theatre and arts. Furthermore, there are several researches showing that the new generation is more sedentary than ever, therefore removing physical education from school could lead to even greater harm to its health. Hence I am a strong advocate for the continuity of non-academic subjects as part of primary education for young children, teenagers and even for young adults at the university level so we can keep our offspring not only creative but also mentally and physically healthy.