Some people believe famous people's support towards international aid organizations draws attention to problems, while others think celebrities make these problems less important. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It goes without saying that celebrities’ support of international aid organizations could raise public awareness of problems, however, whether others would consider these problems significant depends on a comprehensive set of factors. Harnessed reasonably, celebrities’ power could help in tackling pressing issues across the globe. Compared with any other institution, pop stars have a wider reach and more global identity. So it is natural that charitable programs could receive more publicity with the help of movie stars, pop singers, famous writers or artists, and what’s followed is not merely the fans imitating their idols but also attention from the mass people or even the authority, which highlights the aid organization. In addition, well-known people are also able to bridge the gap between people from the world and tragedy that has occurred in a distant place, shedding light on otherwise forgotten problems. However, chances are that famous people ’s reputations might overshadow the causes that charitable institutions are working for. Some celebrities choose philanthropy activities as a way of promoting themselves, trivializing the issue that needs attention and making the audience more suspicious both of the authenticity of the issue and the original intention of these famous stars. Especially when famous people ’s image is damaged in the media for any particular reason, they could have repercussions on the charity and the problem itself, downplaying people ’s inner motive to focus on any issue. In conclusion, by endorsing problems needing attention or donating selflessly, celebrities could help make the public more attentive to urgent issues. But this is not where the charitable cause should end, institutions especially governments should take the lead in guiding the people to do the right thing so that nobody’s kindness is wasted. Last but not least, global aid organizations should also be careful in selecting their spokesman to ensure long-lasting attention from the public.