There seems to be an increasing number of serious crimes committed each year. While some think the best way is to use the death penalty as a deterrent, many people believe that other measures will be needed. Discuss both sides.

Many people consider that death penalty is one of the most preferred ways of punishing the criminals while others are of the opinion that it is not always the answer. In this essay, I will consider and discuss both points of views. Firstly, I will discuss why people may be in favour of this kind of social justice. Secondly, I will explore why the death penalty should not be used. On one hand, there are some experienced criminals who commit extremely hideous crimes for which there is no punishment that is equivalent to the degree of the crime committed. Crimes such as rapes and planned murders in which criminals end up exploiting and violating the dignity of the victim and taking away their life, require the judicial system to punish them harshly. For example, crimes such as murder should be considered extremely severe and therefore the death penalty may meet the severity of the crime. Furthermore, it can act as a warning for other criminals. On the other hand, it’s also true that there are many people who are opposed to the death penalty. It could be the crimes are committed by misguided youth who do not have proper education and guidance. Instead of punishing such criminals with death penalty they should be counselled and given community service so they can realize their mistakes. Also, there is no return from the death penalty. For this reason, criminals can never change and repent their crimes. In conclusion, death penalty is one of the strictest, most unforgiving forms of punishment that must be given to unrelenting criminals while criminals who accept their mistake and are willing to change must be punished likewise to give them an opportunity to become a better and more constructive individual.