In many countries today, parents are able to choose to send their children to single-sex schools or co-educational schools. Some people think that children going to single-sex schools have disadvantages later in life. To what extent do you agree?

Nowadays, parents sending their children to school have to stand in front of the difficult decision if a single-sex or co-educational instance is a better option. Many people argue about what choice they should make. In my view, a single-sex school brings more negatives to student's future life, such as poorer social skills and following gender role stereotypes. Primary education years are fundamental in the development of children's personalities. If pupils are separate from opposite-sex colleagues, they would have trouble creating interactions. Consequently, that led straight to insecurities with personal relations. Basic social skills required in early education years allow youngsters to build meaningful friendships and romantic relationships as well. For example, higher education level students, after years of separation from people of equal age but different sex, have trouble cooperating with others. The separation of girls and boys contributes to the promotion of gender-related stereotypes and sexism. Prohibition of exposure to the opposite sex segregates students from each other, which shows children that it is the correct behaviour. As boys and girls spend time apart and do not learn from each other or about them, negative stereotypes are reinforced. Research showed, that separated children of the opposite sex frequently play and hold traditional stereotypical gender views. In conclusion, parents should be conscious of the negatives that single-sex educational places provide. One of the most important is a lack of communication skills, which is essential in future life. Another considerably valuable possibility is the promotion of children's gender-type stereotypes, which could be socially inappropriate.