The world is consuming natural resources faster than they can be renewed. Therefore, it is important that products are made to last. Governments should discourage people from constantly buying more up-to-date or fashionable products. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

In the era of,consumerism a variety of raw materials is being overused by humans incessantly. Hence, the authorities must take precautionary measures to hult this global issue. Some individuals believe that discouraging people from purchasing state-of-the-art goods will be the best option. Whereas, others deny that this act is profitable for the community. I am convinced that the legislation that will be taken by the government may assist with preventing the consequences of the depletion of natural resources. On the one hand, some products, which are depleted and exhausted may sharpen the condition of ecology significantly. For instance, the field of automobile industry requires unrenewed materials, by discontinuing utilization and reusing old cars a human will pollute the environment adversely. However, there is a plethora of products that do not require replacement with modern ones. For example, the majority of humans change household devices and furniture annually. Therefore, to fulfil their needs huge companies are cutting down trees and wasting energy and causing the greenhouse effect by leaving a carbon footprint. Additionally, by abusing the earth’s natural deposit the community is not advantaging, they are destructing the balance of the ecosystem conversely. For example, advanced technology has also demerits which lead to increased flooding due to erosion of soil and lack of trees, disruption of the food chain when the apex predators will become extinct, and also rising sea levels. The selfishness of inhabitants may lead to such catastrophes and it is undeniable that living standards becoming more convenient and better, but humanity must be aware of the disadvantages of excessive use of products. In conclusion, I strongly believe that convincing citizens not to waste supplies unconsciously is a better way to solve the challenge humanity is facing nowadays. Demerits obviously outweigh merits in this case and it is vital to anticipate others.