People increasingly rely on credit cards for regular payments. Do the advantages of this outweigh its disadvantages?

Credit cards have gained popularity in people's choices of payment methods in this contemporary economy. They bring both pros and cons, albeit; in my opinion, the latter outweighs the former. On the one hand, this way of paying, in a way, boosts the economy by encouraging consumers to do shopping even if they can not pay at that moment. In the past, many items were necessary, yet people were not able to make a purchase with little cash left in their pockets. Meanwhile, they nowadays possibly buy whatever they wish with plastic money with little worry about their current financial situation, which obviously increases the sales volumes and income for related companies. Moreover, banks also take advantage of this way of paying through interest, and maintenance fees, not to mention annual management fees. This consequently leads to a benefit to these financial institutions and the economy as a whole. On the other hand, I am convinced that more detrimental effects resulting from plastic money are threatening the card owners' and society's well-being. Unlike traditional payment methods such as cash, buyers likely tend to make more impulsive purchases, which poses them with a perilous threat to pay debt later. Numerous studies have shown reliable figures for the number of cardholders who have troubles after their shopping with uncontrollably enormous debt. These people also find it extremely tough to clear that vast amount of money, and they sometimes suffer anxiety and stress. Equally important is the impact on social organisms in which individuals are on their own to cope with debt. There is no disputing the fact that such a community is not categorized as a healthy society. In conclusion, I would contend that credit cards bring more glaring disadvantages than advantages, thereby being a wiser user is significantly crucial to protecting themselves from underlying negative effects caused by these cards.