Some experts believe that is it better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

While some experts tend to think that is it better for minors to learn a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school, others believe that it is redundant. In my point of view, the benefits outweigh the drawbacks. In addition, it could bring many opportunities to children. This essay will examine both merits and demerits of studying a foreign language in childhood and provide a logical conclusion. On the positive side, first and foremost, minors learn new languages faster rather than adults. Furthermore, many articles say that getting knowledge in childhood is easier. For example, if parents tell that attending language classes is beneficial, the minor will attend them without any questions. However, if the person is already mature, then the person will have a number of responsibilities such as a full-time job and bills, which could stop the process of education. Secondly, knowing more than one language will open many doors such as enrolling in international courses and studying abroad. For instance, a youth graduates from school and should choose a university. Accordingly, many languages allow choosing from universities in different countries. On the other hand, firstly, children, usually, do not know what a major they wish to obtain in the future and what language could be useful. To illustrate, a girl has been attending extracurricular activities and studying German. After five years she realizes that she wishes to study at the Harvard University and English is essential there. Last but not least, the education program is sophisticated without an additional language subject and might make extra pressure on the student. Namely, an additional language takes a number of time to get fluent in addition to the incorrect choice of the language. To conclude, nowadays, the world consists of many cultures and traditions. Thus, languages make people closer to each other. Hence, if parents choose a language their child does not like, it will make worse in the further studying process.