In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

Band 9 Sample Essay The scarcity of food has always been an issue globally, especially in developing countries. In recent years, there have been many technological as well as an agricultural breakthrough which has incremented the yield of edibles. Despite this, there is a vast section of the world population that goes malnourished. In this essay, the determinants of this predicament and some remedies will be considered. The first and foremost cause of famishment is the uneven distribution of resources that leads to irregular production of food. For example, in India, the cultivation of crops is limited in the mountainous and desert regions due to the unproductive terrains and climatic conditions, while the plains are engaged in extensive agriculture. This results in more food production of crops in the flatlands, whereas the people in the hilly and arid locations get fewer food options. Secondly, this erratic allocation of natural stock leads to escalation of transportation and storage prices, increasing the overall cost. While affluent people do not face any difficulty, the poverty-stricken can barely afford the basic sustenance. Additionally, unpredicted circumstances like natural calamities, pest attacks, turbulent weather and inappropriate storage conditions can lead to the withering of nourishing products and leave a large population to crave food. Other than these factors, overpopulation is an escalating problem that leads to starvation. The rate at which the population is surging is not proportional to the production of food. Due to this high demand and various other factors, the deprived are unable to avail food and are dying of a paucity of daily meals. In order to safeguard the future generation from further deprivation of food, the government should work hand in hand with the populace. Although nothing can be done about the asymmetrical distribution of natural resources, the food problem can be mitigated to certain extent by making the public aware of usage of high-yielding crops, irrigational facilities, and other technologies and making these scientific methods readily available to all farmers. Apart from this, the government can provide storage facilities at subsidized rates so that the gross price does not increase. Further, food wastage can be shunned, and the surplus food in restaurants, hotels, and ceremonies can be distributed among the people who cannot afford it. Finally, it is recommended that the government and non- government organizations work together to create jobs that can employ the needy and they can cater to their needs. To sum up, it is true that even after progress in agriculture technologies, a large section of the world population is still perishing from different ailments caused due to undernutrition. So, it is high time that each individual takes the matter of food waste seriously and supports the government to provide the best facilities to control inflation and other facilities.