Many people think that every individual is responsible for their own healthy lifestyle. Other believe that government should take care of it. Discuss both the views and give your opinion.

In this essay, I explore different views towards who should be held accountable for leading healthy lifestyles. Some believe that the individual is responsible, while others think that the government plays a significant role. I will discuss both arguments with relevant examples, and share my stance on the subject. To begin with, many consider people to be in charge of their own life choices. They assert that it is down to an individual to organise their lives in a manner that allows for them to manage their time, exercise and partake in healthy eating practices. For example, a person with a busy schedule may wake up early in order to go for a morning jog and introduce vegetables into their diet. Nevertheless, those that neglect such practices may suffer from illnesses, such as obesity and heart diseases. However, others are convinced that the government should take care of people and lead by example. There are myriad ways in which they can do this, such as use advertisements to promote health and deliver speeches on mental wellbeing. I think this is more important than individual responsibility, insofar as governing bodies are able to use their position of authority, charisma and eloquence to reach out to masses. In consequence, they can motivate them to make positive choices. Furthermore, they could reduce employee workloads. This would lead to happier and productive workforces. Not only this, but it would also reduce stress-related diseases. All in all, while both sides of the argument are valid, the government plays a more integral factor. They are in charge of countless people and are role models. Due to this, they are able to influence and bring about welcome changes. For instance, this response illustrates how they can advise people on the importance of sport participation and introduce shorter working days.