In most countries, there is an age limit at which people are permitted to drive, but no age limit for drivers. Some experts have proposed that drivers be aged between 20 to 70. Why they have proposed that? What are the drawbacks of this proposal?

Nowadays, there has been a boost in the automotive industry. Among others, teenagers are highly fascinated by the idea of owning luxury cars. However, people believe there should be an age limit for drivers. The reasons and drawbacks of the aforementioned proposal have been discussed in the following paragraphs. Firstly, since in most countries the legal age of driving is 18, this gives youngsters early access to riding cars and other vehicles freely leading to rash driving and other life-threatening issues. For instance - United Nations Educational, Science and Cultural Organisation's recent study shows an increase in road rage cases in the age of 18-21. Moreover, these young minds often fall prey to peer pressure and are in competition to own high-end cars as a symbol of their status. Additionally, elderly citizens because of the ageing factor face numerous health issues such as weakening of eye-sight which makes them prone to accidents. To exemplify- Loss of control is usually an influential factor in accidental cases reported for people aged 50 and beyond putting them as well as others at risk of life. The introduction of such a law can be negatively perceived. Firstly, in case of an emergency, people not in the prescribed range will be unable to help in demanding situations. Furthermore, this would increase the burden on public transportation and might result in increased spending for the government so as to improve the transportation facility in the country. To conclude- such restrictions could lead to improvement in the number of road mishaps yet it will result in several consequences both for the general pupils as well the national authorities and therefore, well-informed decision must be made.