Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In this globalized world, we are exposed to a wide variety of exported goods, foods, and other products being sold by multinational corporations which can be found in many places in the world. I believe such occurrences have both positive and negative impacts, but if those happen without strict regulations, detrimental effects may occur. We come to the time where obtaining the products we need is very convenient, both local and international products. Export and import are ubiquitous and have been providing us with quality commodities. International restaurants are also mushrooming in many parts of the country, making them inseparable parts of our life. Although such conditions have brought benefits and may lower the disparity between countries, it is indisputable that those are not always the case for other aspects. On the other side, abundant import of goods may lower the attractiveness of local goods and have the potential to shut down local entrepreneurs. International restaurants seem to pull more and more customers as they offer convenience and fast service and gain more profits which may lead the local restaurants to lose the market competition. The entrance of products from overseas could also put our cultural identity at risk by diminishing or even wiping it as people will have other interests in the international context and follow global trends. For instance, young people nowadays are hugely attracted to Korean dramas and songs, even buying expensive merchandise rather than reminiscing about their own countries’ folk songs, dances or cultures. In conclusion, this globalized world has given us a lot of potential and convenience, particularly in product accessibility. Unless it is controlled by strong regulations, it will be detrimental to the societies in a developing country since there are many impediments to tackle.