Some people believe the purpose of education is to make people useful to society. Others believe it is to prepare them to achieve their ambitions. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Individuals are divided in their opinion regarding the context of academic learning. To someone, the motto of studying should be providing services to the community whereas many others think the main intention of a student should be achieving their own goals. Both schools of thought make sense to a certain extent and hence both sides of the argument will be discussed in the subsequent paragraphs. To begin with, it is obvious that persons with organizational learnings can contribute to the development of a nation more efficiently through their specialized knowledge and expertise in particular fields of their studies. For example, when someone studies medical science society desires him/her to serve in healthcare institutions in order to ensure the medical treatment of the general public. Therefore, almost every field of study has a core motive to serve society and no learner can deny this fact. Again, one of the significances of education is to make a person free of societal restrictions. According to this point of view, education should be for the freedom of one's own choices so that s/he can be anything they want whether it brings societal benefit or not. For instance, One may have the desire to be a singer which seems unimportant to run a nation but one should have the right to build his career in singing as long as it does not harm citizens. In fact, songs can play a vital role in recreation related to people' mental health which is not any less important. However, after pondering both views, I can say whatever the purpose people think of learning, schooling always serves the well-being of society either directly or indirectly. Hence, to conclude, the motto of study does not necessarily lie on any sole objective rather it is for the betterment of the nation as a whole.