Getting promotion is one of the biggest drives for people to apply themselves and work hard in modern workplace. Why do you think people are so driven to get promotion? What other factors influence people to work hard?

Beyond subsistence, gaining power is an inherent attribute of all species. It is related to the preservation of genes by means of reproduction. This is certainly a biased analysis made by a cognitive neuroscientist, but I will point out a number of reasons why I believe so. Foremost, it is undeniable that our genetic code drives the greatest part of our behaviour. However, as egocentric as humans are, there is a tendency to think that reason governs our actions. The actual truth, unfortunately, is less appreciated, and in all likelihood not achievable to most people. In order to understand this standpoint solid scientific knowledge must be acquired previously, yet this is not offered to all. Conversely, for those lucky enough to have been offered a proper scientific education, the idea that more power means better chances of reproduction is simply a fact. Nonetheless, a higher approach to this understanding is that of being able to modulate natural unconscious drives. For instance, knowing such can place one in a better position to find a promotion without disrespecting any colleagues, while even helping everyone else grow together. The other reason is related to subsistence itself. Getting a promotion will, in most cases, increase the salary of the recipient, which is a force in favour of working hard. Although not directly related to reproduction, as is gaining power, it still influences if genes would perpetuate onto new generations or not. This happens because it is not possible to gain power or promotion in the modern setting if the basic needs for survival are not mastered. Besides salary and power, self-achievement is another reason that influences people to work hard. In this case, the actual motor is not so biological, but instead a psychological one. This is the kind of attribute that differentiates humans from other animals. In conclusion, taking into account my bias as a neuroscientist, I am much inclined to think that what drives people to get a promotion is basically written in our genes, and that is a drive to power in general, which in turn is related to reproduction. Yet, humans are fortunate to have a brilliant organ inside the head that generates billions of thoughts throughout their lifespan, and these give rise to more noble reasons, like love for others and pure fulfilment.