Tobacco should be treated as illegal like other drugs. Smoking has not a single positive issue but lots of negative effects and therefore, it should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the above statement.

Tobacco is a legal drug around the world. Taking into consideration smoking has highly negative effects on the body and that habit can be harmful. Thereby countries should treat tobacco as an illegal drug like class A drugs of the serious harm it causes. Throughout the years, smoking has been seen as a luxury habit. In the 60s, smokers were seen as the high society, which created a big impact on how people perceived the use of the substance. In the same way as wearing an expensive watch, smoking was also a sign of wealth additionally that perception impacted how a society built the habit of smoking daily, at parties, meetings and dinners. However, science has proven smoking can cause serious harm to the body. People who smoke are more likely to develop cancers an example is lung cancer. Beisdes, not only for those serious health issues but also for countries with free health care, it is a high cost for the government to treat those citizens when that money could be invested in other areas. Moreover, the point is smoking just leads to other substance use, it can destroy families and have a big negative impact on a group of people. As a result, pregnant mothers who smoke can harm their fetuses, and parents who smoke give a bad example for their children. Not forget smoking tobacco is an expensive habit, and that can cause even more harm to a household. Thus, I do agree that tobacco should be treated as an illegal drug like other class A drugs like cocaine and heroin, as it can bring serious health issues subsequently there are no positive points to smoking and it should be banned.