It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion. What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

It is said that “the best way is not the easiest way”. According to some, punishment is the best way to teach children the difference between right and wrong. In my opinion, punishing children would be problematic and is not essential at all. Punishing children to teach them true and false is a wrong idea. Clearly, it can be very harmful for children mentally. Anxiety and tension are probably the first consequences of punishment that can involve children in any age they are. Moreover, their self-confidence may reduce significantly after a while when they don’t feel comfortable in relationship with their parents and teachers. For example, they can’t express themselves freely without fearing from their teachers or even their parents. On the other hand, using penalties to help children learn to distinguish good from evil can cause them become aggressive when they grow up. In other words, if parents use punishment both mentally and physically for training their children in the early age, the child may think that the best way for solving problems will be shouting and quarrelling with others. Evidently, children copy their parents’ behavior, so one of the best methods to teach them good conduct is for parents to behave correctly in different situations so that children can learn by looking at them. In conclusion, while people may vary in their opinions, I believe that punishment can’t cause children have a stable upbringing. However, it may seems to be effective in the short time, it probably have many destructive effects in the long term.