Some people say that History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people might think that, in today’s world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Opinions are divided on whether History should be prioritised, or whether it is far outweighed by other critical subjects such as Science and Technology these days. Although it is understandable why some people find History essential, I believe that highly practical courses are more necessary due to several reasons. Admittedly, some arguing in favour of History may base their position on the fact that this subject helps students to know more about the past of their countries and learn the experience from it. Firstly, doing so encourages kids to understand what difficulties their ancestors suffered such as wars and pandemics. For instance, Vietnamese students are taught that a peaceful life these days have been built from the sacrifice and hard-working of many former generations, therefore they can treasure it more and try to develop their country. Furthermore, lessons from history are always valuable, helping us to avoid repeating mistakes like in the past. For example, the two world wars are always mentioned in History classes to tell young generations about the serious consequences of global wars. However, I believe that courses in sciences and technology provide more important knowledge and skills for the world’s development. It is undeniable that the living standard is much improved by technological inventions because they help us to increase productivity and solve different problems. For example, goods are enormously produced thanks to modern types of equipment, or many fatal diseases are eradicated due to the state-of-the-art techniques in biology, chemistry or medicine. Furthermore, studying these subjects gives students more opportunities to have well-paid jobs in the future. That is to say, jobs in high-tech fields such as I.T or doctors are having much higher salaries compared to the others. In conclusion, although it can help students to know more about the past, the advantages of history are far outweighed by subjects such as science and technology due to their contribution to the development of society and better job opportunities in the future. For the aforementioned reasons, I contend that studying science and technology is much more essential for recruitment.