some people say that the subject of international news should be taught in secondary school, other people say that it is a waste of valuable school time, discuss both sides and give your opinion.

We know that a lot of fundamental and useful subjects, such as mathematics, languages, chemistry and physics had been applied in secondary school for a long period. But nowadays, some people propose that the subject of international news should also be taught in secondary school. For my part, I think, before we add a new subject to our secondary school education system, both advantages and disadvantages of the subject need to be considered deliberately.On one hand, the subject of international news really bring about a lot of benefits to the secondary school students. To be a modern and open-mind person, the knowledge of basic science will not adequate for his or her future career, other kinds of knowledge, such as the knowledge of society, the knowledge of laws is also required in his or her practical work, otherwise, he or she will meet lots of problems that he or she could not handle. Consequently, secondary school is supposed to play not only the function of providing students with systematic and disciplined basic science knowledge, but also play the function of helping students to be more social, more open-mind and more competent in their practical work. We could hardly imagine that a modern person claim no idea about the great event happened in the world. So, it is quite reasonable to add the subject of international news in secondary school to make the students more competitive for the society. On the other hand, spending too much time on the subjects irrelevant with basic science could be regarded as a waste of valuable school time for the students in certain circumstance. We know that the main function that secondary school play is to help student lay a solid literature foundation and provide them with necessary preparation for his future education 【university,college,etc.】. Accordingly, secondary school is supposed to put their focus on the content and improvement of teaching basic science. As for social subjects, such as international news, the educators and school managers need to arrange a proper portion of time in teaching them and provide students with a more reasonable and perfect secondary school system.In conclusion, the subject of international news need to be taught in secondary school because of its great importance, however, it is plausible to teach this subject at a proper portion of time.