Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems. Identify these problems and suggest ways through which governments and individuals can tackle these problems.

In many parts of the world, overpopulation of urban space has been more and more common leading to many serious issues. This essay would discuss these issues and provide some effective solutions to these obstacles. To begin with, there are several disputes are caused by rapidly growing populations. The first and most dangerous issue is that overpopulation can lead to overcrowding and poor-quality housing in many large cities. Poorly heated or damp housing could cause significant health dilemmas, resulting in illness, such as bronchitis or pneumonia. Another serious consequence of overcrowding is a rising crime rate as poor living conditions may lead young people in particular to take desperate measures and turn to crime or drugs. In terms of solutions, I believe the government should be largely responsible. Firstly, it is vital that the state provides essential housing and healthcare for all its citizens. Secondly, setting up community projects to help foster more community spirit and help keep young people off the street is a good idea. For example, youth clubs or evening classes for teenagers would keep them occupied. Finally, more effective policing of the inner city field would also be beneficial. In addition, individuals should also try to address these complications. One way is to put pressure on the government to ensure they tackle the trouble by, for instance, forming action groups to lobby the government and request intervention and adequate funding. They could also form a Neighbourhood Watch field to try and help reduce the high levels of crime. In conclusion, it is clear that the trouble caused by overpopulation in the urban field is very serious. However, if governments and individuals share a collective responsibility, it may well become possible to offer some solutions.