Some people believe that a police force carrying guns will encourage a higher level of violence in society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

I disagree with the statement that armed police force would promote a greater degree of violence. A number of arguments surround my opinion. My first argument to support my viewpoint is that guns would, to a large extent, deter the potential criminals ' Police officers are those who are responsible for taking care of all the citizens, safety and wearing guns could largely make sure of this. For example, if someone has the intention to commit a crime, he would think twice about doing so if there is police carrying guns on patrol. Therefore, the level of violence would decrease rather than go up. Secondly, criminals usually have guns and so, police officers need them in order to control crime. lnstead of taking guns away from the police, it is more important to make laws against the general public having guns.Countries with weak or ineffective gun laws, or countries bordering such countries, like Mexico which has strong 8un laws, but virtually no way to prevent them from being smuggled over the border from the U.S.,need a police force that is not only armed, but is armed befterthan the criminals. Opponents claim that police in the U.K. are able to go without guns and also have crime in control. They have a point but I believe that crime in UK is under control because they are able to control the flow of guns to the general populace. Therefore, I reiterate my point that police force should carry guns. To sum up, because criminals can easily come into possession of guns, therefore the police force needs to be armed. Armed police in itself could never be a cause of increased violence. Nations around the world should hope to someday reach the point where their police force can afford not to carry guns and still be effective.