Many young people choose to take a year out between finishing school and starting university in order to gain work experience or to travel. The experience of non-academic life this offers benefits the individual when they return to education.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some young adults prefer to travel or work for one year after finishing school in order to make a better decision on their future career path. I personally agree with this. Gaining a job can be useful to young people to choose their future profession before starting higher education. In other words, they have an opportunity to be familiar with all aspects of their favourite job. Although they can gain a large amount of information by searching on the Internet, their personal experience is different from resources which are written by unknown individuals. For instance, if someone tends to be a dentist, he can gain a valuable perspective by working in a clinic as a receptionist. Thus, it is more likely that they make a suitable choice of bout their future career. It is obvious that travelling has some advantages for people, especially for young adults. Travelling is an opportunity to get away from academic stress and rest for a while. In other words, the young can do their favourite leisure activities which they could not do due to the high level of academic pressure. In this way, they became prepared mentally to start the next journey in their academic life. Also, by travelling young adults can gain new experiences which may broaden their horizons and knowledge. For instance, some young individuals are interested in spending time in foreign countries in order to learn about their cultures and traditions.+ To sum up, it seems to me that working and travelling can be beneficial to young people before starting their university course. They can increase their knowledge and face some realities about their favourite job before returning to education.