It is more important for a building to serve a purpose than to look beautiful. Architects shouldn’t worry about producing building as a work of art. Do you agree or disagree?

In the present world, it is of common trend to construct structures with complex designs inorder to create scenic beauty which is often not necessary till the structure serves its own purpose. Personally, I completely agree with that and i will be reasoning my stands in the subsequent paragraphs. To begin with, each of the constructions has a sole objective to facilitate the human-beings. For instance, residential buildings are built to provide habitats for individulas whereas, some buildings are used as school, college or universities to provide educational facilities. Therefore, while designing these buildings, engineers should be concerned of whether the structure will fit the amenities required to live or to learn rather than how to enhance outlook of the building. Infact, sometimes beauty of a building may bring hassles, such as the beauty of Dhaka University pools a huge amount of people to visit it that the crowd disturbs the calmness which is a prerequisit of an academic institution. Another point worth mentioning is that beautifying a building requires huge amount of money which is not worthwhile at all. There are many examples where investments on artistic design leads to construct the building poorly that it could not sustain for longer time such as the collapse of 'Rana Plaza' which was a major failure due to poor construction while the building looked outstanding visually. Besides, in case of such engineering failure, general people often blame engineers for not following desinging instructions properly while the truth is they are told to make it visually beautiful instead of caring much about safety. In conclusion, it can be reiterated that buildings should be safe places to live, work or do other activities. So engineers should be more concernef of designing safe structures instead of investing much time on making it beautiful.