It is more important for a building to serve a purpose than to look beautiful. Architects shouldn’t worry about producing building as a work of art. Do you agree or disagree?

In the present world, it is of the common trend to construct structures with complex designs in order to create scenic beauty which is often not necessary till the structure serves its own purpose. Personally, I completely agree with that and i will be reasoning my stands in the subsequent paragraphs. To begin with, each of the constructions has a sole objective to facilitate the human beings. For instance, residential buildings are built to provide habitats for individuals whereas, some buildings are used as schools, colleges or universities to provide educational facilities. Therefore, while designing these buildings, engineers should be concerned about whether the structure will fit the amenities required to live or to learn rather than how to enhance the outlook of the building. In fact, sometimes the beauty of a building may bring hassles, such as the beauty of Dhaka University pools a huge amount of people to visit it the crowd disturbs the calmness which is a prerequisite of an academic institution. Another point worth mentioning is that beautifying a building requires a huge amount of money which is not worthwhile at all. There are many examples where investments in artistic design lead to construction of the building poorly that it could not sustain for a longer time such as the collapse of 'Rana Plaza' which was a major failure due to poor construction while the building looked outstanding visually. Besides, in case of such engineering failure, general people often blame engineers for not following design instructions properly while the truth is they are told to make it visually beautiful instead of caring much about safety. In conclusion, it can be reiterated that buildings should be safe places to live, work or do other activities. So engineers should be more concerned about designing safe structures instead of investing much time in making them beautiful.