Some health problems are directly linked to people life choices.Why do people make these choices? What can be done to encourage them to make healthier life choices?

Nowadays, many people live poor lifestyles which have detrimental effects on their overall well-being. This essay will first outline the reason behind this which is the lack of awareness regarding potential health hazards and a viable solution for this which is the education of the masses through advertisement campaigns. The major reason associated with a large proportion of the population making unhealthy life choices is the lack of awareness. People are not aware of the possible threats which could arise from this. Therefore, they end up snacking on fast food items that are devoid of any nutritional value, lead sedentary lives, consume alcohol on a regular basis and smoke packets of cigarettes daily. For instance, this attitude was highly evident based on a study conducted in the United Kingdom in 2012, it was seen that sixty per cent of the population was unaware of the deleterious consequences of a fat-rich diet. Although a large chunk of the population has an ignorant attitude towards this issue, there are solutions available to change the same. One plausible solution can be the implementation of comprehensive educational campaigns. Informative sessions teaching about the adverse effects of consuming improper diets can be conducted. Furthermore, advertisements and multimedia devices can be used to deliver knowledge about this to a large number of citizens in a nation,at the same time. For example, this strategy was impressively used in Norway, to reduce the consumption of alcohol because of which the total consumption of liquor reduced significantly. In conclusion, the main cause responsible for creating this issue is the ignorance associated with it. However, this can be overcome by making use of strategies which will help disperse knowledge and information to the masses.