In some cultures children are encouraged to compete against each other. What are the advantages and diadvantages of this approach?

Children are motivated to challenge each other in some cultures. This essay will suggest that the positive effects on personality procured through this are the biggest advantage, while the major disadvantage associated with this is the increase in stress levels in the younger populations. I believe that the drawbacks outweigh the benefits of the same. The principal benefit of making kids compete with each is the positive effects it has on developing a competitive spirit in a child. First of all, it makes them face challenges early in life because of which they become tougher and mentally stronger adults. This helps in their development as an individual, they are able to come up with effective solutions to grave problems faster. Furthermore, young people born and brought up under these cultural influences fair better as adults as compared to their counterparts. For instance, it was noted that students who grew up in households with parents who expected them to outperform other students in their class, ended up performing exceedingly well in academics. Despite these advantages,it is true that the youth is exposed to unnecessary stressors because of this. This can be unhealthy for their mental well-being. Childhood is supposed to be the most carefree period of one's life and exposure to stress at this stage may end up destroying it. In addition to this, it can have an adverse impact on the mental health of a person who can eventually end up developing trauma-related defence responses in the future. For example, there were high levels of stress noted in the Asian population in a classroom located in America,it was later understood that these pupils were being forced by their parents to pursue more extra-curricular activities than their peers. In conclusion, making a child compete with his peers might make him excel in the future. However, this is also associated with negative impacts on the well-being of the kid. In my opinion, the downsides overpower the benefits of the same.