In many countries traditional food is being replaced by international fast food. Some claim that this has negative effects on both families and societies. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People often visit fast food restaurants as most of them live a life at a fast pace and need to work longer hours than before to earn higher salaries nowadays. I believe that the advent of fast food affects family bonds adversely and leads to some social problems. One problem associated with society is that fast food has become a health issue in some countries, such as America, where the number of overweight people has increased dramatically. This is because most fast food is high in fat, sugar, salt, and calories, all of which are not good for people ’s health if they eat too much fast food. As a result, those obese people are more likely to suffer from heart disease or some other health problems than normal-weight people. This would impose a burden on the medical system of society. In contrast, home-cooked dishes are considered to be beneficial to health as people tend to use fresh ingredients and few preservatives when they cook at home. Another issue related to the impact of fast food is that it would pose a threat to traditional cuisine, which normally represents one country’s culture. It is obvious that some traditional meals need a longer time to prepare, especially some Chinese dishes, than fast food, which is the main drawback to traditional cuisine. As a result, people who live a hectic life every day may tend to choose fast food as their breakfast and dinner. If fast food is always popular with local inhabitants, fast food restaurants would dominate the market and traditional food restaurants may disappear gradually, which is equal to the cultural invasion of a country. Eating too much fast food would also be harmful to family relationships. This is because if people often eat out in fast food restaurants, then they may make it become a habit. As a result, they are reluctant to prepare or have family meals, which provide family members with an opportunity to communicate with each other and enhance mutual understanding, and then lack of emotional communication would make people find it hard to maintain close family bonds with family members. In conclusion, I agree with the idea that fast food has negative effects on both families and societies. It has the potential to alienate family members from each other and cause some social issues.