Sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In the recent world, people need more cautions what to ask and what they should not to ask to at job inteviews from the privacy protection point of view. One group of people think asking about personal intests and marital status are quite beneficial while others believe it is not. I will discuss the two ideas and state my opinion which I believe the fundametal information related to one's preference and family status are quite useful to decide if the job is suitable for the candidate. The first idea is that above mentioned basic private information should be requested as it would help both parties to correctly assess if the job is suitable for applicants. For example, understanding the candidates' marital status is quite useful when they decide whether the role's requirements, such as working locations and hours, can match the candidates' priorities. In addition, one's private liking often link to job satisfactions of office workers. I agree that when we hire someone hoping the worker would stay for a long term to contribute to the business, we should at least understand their basic living conditions and preferences to avoid running risks of making unmet requirements. The second group disagrees and thinks that those private interests are totally irrelevant and should not be asked. People of this idea believe that the work and the private life are two separate things and not intervene. As long as hiring managers can judget that the person they are interviewing are professionally satisfactory to take the jobs that is sufficient and no assessments of private conditions are needed. For instance, person's hobby is an absolutely unnecessary data for those interviewers. Those people even think requesting those data will violate the privacy law. In conclusion, there are two main ways of thinking regarding the inquires related to personal matters. One group voluntarily collect information to make the decision more successful, while the other group avoid the hearing of the matters believing those are outside of professional world. I am with the former school of thought as I believe understanding basic private conditions have merits to make successful offers.