Some people believe that children should be allowed to choose what subjects to study at school.Others argue that everyone should study the same subjects. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Nowadays, there are rapid changes taking place in the field of education. Some people often agree that students should get a choice to choose what they want to study because they believe that children should not be studying matters they do not like; However, I disagree with this because I feel that a child should have some basic knowledge about all subjects. It is essential to have a sound knowledge of all the subjects taught at school. These topics are generally used in everyday life and not having an idea about them can be disadvantageous to a pupil. This can narrow career options for children when they become adults. Therefore, learning all topics taught in primary education is crucial. For instance, dropping mathematics in school can be problematic because the pupil would not be able to pursue a career in engineering in the future and at the same time would not be able to perform daily calculations needed to survive in adulthood. Hence, I agree with this viewpoint because of the demerits associated with this. Although there are many disadvantages associated with this, many still agree that pupils should have a say in what they should study. They believe that people should be taught what they like to read and what they are passionate about. For instance,a person keen on becoming a doctor should avoid studying mathematics. According to me, this argument is not valid because every profession requires some basic information about other subjects. For example, a paediatrician needs to know how to calculate the dose of a neonate, this is not possible without knowing how to add and subtract numbers. In conclusion, there are certain drawbacks of not knowing particular things from school. Besides this, this could narrow career and job prospects for a person. Hence, I am of the opinion that the young should not be allowed to choose what they want to study.