More and more companies allow their employees to work from home or “remotely” rather than going into an office each day. Do the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages?

The popularity of remote jobs is on the rise, while this modern take on workspace offers some benefits at first glance, there is more to this matter than meets the eye, meaning that its downsides should be taken into consideration as well. On one hand, teleworking as a concept would probably please not only any employer, but also th employees. It can significantly reduce costs that go into maintaining a work environment or transportation to the office. If one is not wasting countless hours commuting to work, they can make better use of their day, which can, theoretically, improve creativity and productivity among workers and increase a business’s profit margin. Furthermore, working from home is far more convenient, as people can get their job done from the comfort of their home and possibly improve their work-life balance. On the other hand, the widespread utilization of remote jobs happened during the COVID-19 pandemic, due to the dangers of the contagious virus that caused the disease during that era, while it was not a new concept, it has never been put to test in such a large scale. Nevertheless, that led companies to face telework’s pitfalls. For one, studies have shown a significant decay in employees’ occupational performance, when they are working from home. Moreover, although the working theory was that working remotely could provide individuals with a better work-life balance, in reality, it proved counterproductive. Despite the fact that they were staying at home, their job and personal life became inseparable and caused them to be burnt out even more. In conclusion, I would argue that although working remotely seems more convenient and financially beneficial on a surface level, it could eventually sabotage employees’ performance. Therefore, it should be implemented carefully and in limited circumstances.