Some of today's schools insist that all students have their own laptop computers in class to assist in their education. Do you feel that this would be an advantage to the students' education of would it be an unnecessary complication?

Computers have become an inseparable part of our everyday life. There is hardly any activity in life today that does not include the use of these electronic devices. In some educational institutions, laptop computers are a necessary tool needed by students for effective learning. This level of integration of smart devices in the education system has its advantages and disadvantages. To begin with, one of the advantages of making laptops an integral part of receiving lectures is that students and indeed teachers are able to easily refer to any material they wish or need at the click of the mouse. For example, when studying navigation, a huge volume of maps is needed. With the use of electronic tools, an unlimited number of maps can be made available to the student at no additional cost, while using hard copies would be bulky and cost a lot of money to duplicate. Another merit is that people can easily share data among themselves without having to meet physically; a feat that is simply impossible without digitization. For example, if an assignment topic is given in a group, all members of the class can receive the questions via email at once. On the other hand, the disadvantage of enforcing the utilization of computing systems in taking classes is that some pupils who are not able to afford it will be left behind. For instance, a person who is not well-to-do will be playing catch-up with the rest of the class. Also, others may become addicted to the use of digital processors so much that they will become brain drained. For instance, nowadays students are unable to compute simple arithmetics without a calculator. This has the effect of weakening their level of reasoning. In summary, Insisting that every student should carry a personal computer to the learning centre will make it easy for pupils to relate to a class demonstration better and they can also share materials easily. The negative part, however, is that financially disadvantaged persons will be left out and it can also lead to over-usage.