An increasing number of people are choosing plastic surgery. Why do people choose to change the way they look? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Contemprorarily Contemporarily, a significant number of people have been opting for artificial body enhancement rather than natural ones such as an exercise. This, I think may be due to the fact that, they want to enhance their beauty to feel confident, and also keep up with the fashion world. However, in my opinion, this practice can be detrimental to the health of the individual, and also a bad example to the young adults. To begin with, there has been this trend where an increasing number of people are choosing plastic surgery, which is done either on the breast or the buttocks. This may arise because of lack of confidence in one's natural body. For example, a lady who loves to wear dresses which are tight on her body would engaged in this practice to get an hourglass shape. Furthermore, some do so in order to look like a celebrity they adore. People can go the extra mile to change some part of their body just to resemble a famous personality. Nonetheless, this, I think, has both positive and negative effect. People can benefit from this surgery by getting the body shape they want, which helps boost their self-confidence. Conversely, this can be detrimental to the individual's health, in that, lots of chemicals and other toxic substances are used to achieve this. For instance, these people can be at risk of getting cancer since they are exposed to some hazardous substances. In conclusion, although plastic surgery can be beneficial to an individual, I think that is a negative breakthrough because of its health implications and also, the tendency of teenagers having lower self-esteem due to the fact that, they do not have a nice body shape in comparison with an individual who has enhanced how she looks.