Nowadays tourists and scientists can travel to remote natural environments such as the SOUTH pole. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Advances in travel technology have made it possible for people, including scientists and tourists, to travel to areas that were previously impossible to reach. While there are some clear disadvantages associated with this issue, on the whole the advantages are greater. Travel to remote areas carries with it numerous disadvantages. One such disadvantage is that tourists tend to taint natural areas, not only with waste they leave behind, but with all the infrastructure required to support tourism. When a remote area requires restaurants, hotels and wifi cables, among other amenities, it ceases to be a virgin area. This may have a negative impact on the local people living there, affecting their livelihood or way of life. Similarly, scientists may affect a pristine environment as well by setting up laboratories and tampering with the native flora and fauna. The development required to support scientific inquiry may compromise the environment, causing it to lose the very essence of what made it initially appealing. Thus, travel to remote areas may bring numerous drawbacks. Although there are clear disadvantages to remote travel, the advantages it provides cannot be overstated. Areas far removed from urban centers frequently suffer from a weak economy, therefore interest from tourists in these regions could give a much needed economic boost. Additionally, with the development of necessary infrastructure, new jobs would be created for people of the area. More importantly, however, is what research in such regions could give to the world of science. Opening an uncharted world to scientists could bring about new knowledge that would help mankind, or even perhaps cure heretofore untreatable diseases. A recent report from the New York Times indicated estimated that 22% of diseases with no cure could find treatments from plant life in areas such as deserts and rainforests. Therefore, the advantages to investigating these regions are innumerable. In conclusion, no gain is without costs. Similarly, the advantages of travel to remote areas comes at a price. However, all told, the benefits to humanity are too great to ignore