In some countries old people who retire from work spend the money on themselves (e.g. holiday) rather than save money for their children. Is this a positive or negative development?

For the past few years, it has been observed that elderly people are focusing more on themselves than their children when it comes to retirement finances. Instead of accumulating wealth for the next generation, they spend their pension on fulfilling their own wishes like travelling and taking up a hobby. I believe it to be a positive trend as it is beneficial to both retired parents and their children. On the retired parents ’ side, it shows the increased awareness of the senior citizens’ valuing their own well-being. More often than not, parents are apt to prioritize their beloved children ’s needs, which requires unconditional compromise and sacrifice. They stick to the view that they are obliged to pinch and scrape in retirement to ensure there is something left behind for their children. However, that attitude certainly affects their quality of life. In contrast, investing themselves is a much better way of life for retirees because they are able to pursue whatever they want without external restrictions. By taking up a hobby, their lives are enriched and the emptiness and the anxiety of retirement can be greatly relieved; by travelling around the world, they embrace the beauty of nature, feel more relaxed and obtain a better state of mind. Their children, on the other hand, are allowed an opportunity to live independently to strive for their own happiness. Although the lack of financial support from parents can add to the burden on the child,excessive financial support from the family does no good to individuals as they may rely too much on their parents, thus lacking the ability to struggle for self-improvement. Realizing that they are the ones responsible for themselves, superior qualities like resilience and perseverance can be cultivated in the process of confronting difficulties and overcoming obstacles with their own efforts. Overall, the shift from saving money for children to spending on retirees themselves is an advance in the elderly’s mindset and a chance for the young’s display their ability.