Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end world poverty and hunger. Others say that economic growth is causing damage to the environment, and should be stopped now. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have different views about whether economic development is positive or not for humans and our planet Earth. While some people argue that economic growth may lead to environmental problems, I believe that it is an essential factor to cope with poverty issues and some measures can be taken to tackle the problems caused by it. On the one hand, economic growth is vital for dealing with poverty problems. A healthy economy is an important financial source for governments and having sufficient revenue is essential to invest in infrastructure and other industries, which can help to improve the quality of life for impoverished populations. For example, governments need money to build social housing and provide free food for the poor. Besides, individuals can also benefit from a growing economy because it can provide job opportunities to residents. Without a healthy economy, both authorities and individuals will be difficult to live a prosperous future. On the other hand, it is true that economic developments have led to several environmental problems. Firstly, exhaust fumes produced by the growing number of vehicles and carbon dioxide gases emitted by industrial factories have resulted in severe air pollution and the greenhouse effect. This has led to climate change, and thousands of inhabitants are displaced because of floods and poor air quality. Secondly, water pollution can be seen in developing countries because there are no proper regulations with regard to the protection of the environment. Businessmen only care about making a profit and they pay no attention to the treatment of sewage. However, this does not mean that we should stop pursuing economic development. Stringent laws should be introduced by governments and we can also do something to help to reduce environmental problems. In conclusion, although a booming economy may lead to some environmental issues, I believe that economic growth is essential to us to end poverty and food crisis, and measures should be taken by governments and individuals to cope with such problems.