After graduation, many students take a year to travel. Some think that it would be more useful to work for a year. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is very common for privileged students from developed nations to take a year to travel between the end of high school and the beginning of university instead of working part-time. In my opinion, it is much better to develop your capacity for leisure activity rather than get a job in this interim period. The main reason many advocate employment during a gap year is the cultivation of a strong work ethic. When someone begins working, their bad habits necessarily subside. For example, a worker has to be on time, work diligently, follow orders, get along with co-workers, show initiative, have a positive attitude, endure long days, and make ends meet with little pay. This is the molding process of adulthood which entails reconciling your desires with the community's expectations at large. The individual who opts to spend their gap year working will enter university more well-rounded, disciplined, and humble. However, a strong work ethic is bound to develop later, while the ability to enjoy one’s leisure while traveling is a far more valuable skill. Most people acclimate to working with a part-time job during high school or academy. At worst, they develop these qualities after graduation. Since they have been either working or studying their entire lives they have neglected the ability to enjoy the leisure that distinguishes higher classes. The average person who has been working their entire life goes on holiday or retires and feels restless. To enjoy your leisure time traveling, you must be able to set aside future worries, live in the moment, get outside your comfort zone, have a wide range of hobbies and skills, and be active for a full day without a workday. Chances to cultivate these habits will see far less light with a career and family, so it is best to nourish them before university. In conclusion, the gap year is a crucial space for individuals to develop personal relationships in their leisure time. This is important as an ever-advancing career can become an undesirable transformational experience.