In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

A good transport system in the country helps in its development. Some people believe that spending a large amount on the development of new rail tracks for rapid trains between the cities is essential. However, others opine that more allocation should be to the transportation we already have. In this essay, I shall discuss both views. As for as I am concerned, I am more leaning toward the latter notion. To commence with, spending more money on building new rail lines improves transportation between the towns. To explain, the durability of railway tracks is much more than the roads, so spending more allocation on the construction of a new railway track is a one-time investment with long-time benefits. Moreover, trains are a faster and much more reliable way of commuting which lead to the incline in the wastage of time and energy. For example, if someone uses a train to commute to and from work on a daily basis may save more time because of a fixed railway schedule and he does need not to bear the hassle of road traffic. Therefore, he will be more satisfied and enjoy more leisure time with friends and family. On the other hand, the allocation of budget for current transportation is better to improve an existing structure. To elaborate, spending money on roads and vehicles not only improves the movement between the cities but also helps to upgrade the local structure at the same moment. For instance, highways are not only used for connecting different towns but also work for movement within the town. Hence, with the same amount of budget, both issues may resolve. In conclusion, although the expansion of new travelling ways improve transportation, however, I believe that it is more worthwhile for authorities to spend money on existing public carriage than on high-speed railway projects.