some universities deduct mark on a student's work if it is given late. what is your opinion? What alternative actions do you recommend to take

Many universities underestimate the result of a student's work if it was passed after the deadline. I believe that this is the right method of evaluation because all students must have the same time to do the task. Firstly, it is important to punish works that are late by deducting marks otherwise it will be not fair if works that are late will be assessed the same because there are specially allotted times to pass it. For example, it will be wrong if the student who has done his research before the deadline, and the student who passed it late are been assessed the same. Also, punishment for being late, teaches the student to do everything on time and improves their time management skills. Which is a very important skill in university and life generally. Supposing it's necessary to do alternative actions for the students, I would like to give extra work to a student who is late, therefore it will motivate them to pass their task before the deadline. For example, if a student passes his research late, the teacher gives him extra work, and if he does not do it, the teacher will underestimate him or even will not accept his research. In conclusion, it is important to discipline students to pass all of their tasks on time by deducting marks or giving extra work for them.