People nowadays prefer to interact online e g do shopping chat with friends rather than talking to other people face to face What are the reasons for this. Is this a positive or negative development?

With the boost in technological developments, the virtual world has become a more preferable way of interaction rather than the real one. The reasons as well as the implications of this evolution have been highlighted in the following paragraphs. Firstly, the reason behind this shift contributes significantly to the way online interactions have linked the world together. For instance - During the recent covid pandemic, while actual travel was restricted, not only did virtual interaction help in keeping a check on loved ones in other cities and countries but also acted as a source of quick information that helped in saving millions of lives due to its wide reach. Furthermore, online shopping is another trend that provides numerous options to the public in the comfort of their homes and provides local businesses with a platform to operate without incurring extra costs for establishing themselves. In my opinion, this is a positive development as with the availability of almost everything online, an individual can focus on important chores rather than running routine errands. To exemplify- since most families now have a nuclear set-up and both partners are working, applications such as Zomato, Blink it and Pharmaeasy helps them in running their household without any worries. Additionally, manual efforts have significantly reduced as almost everything can now be done virtually without the need of having a real interaction. To summarize- even though the definition of communication has changed in this developing world yet human interactions are an important part of life as a man is a social animal. It is important to maintain a balance between the interactions and limit the excessive usage of online platforms for tasks that need in-person assistance.