Is it better to live in a small or a big city? Give reasons and examples to support you answer.

In today's time, finalizing a city to finally settle is one of the most important decisions one has to take in his life. Some believe that small towns are better place to live, however, many thinks otherwise. Although big cities do attract a lot of people because of its glamourous life, in my opinion, small cities are a better option to love nowadays. This essay will elaborate the benefits of living in a small city and will highlight a few drawbacks of the bigger ones. Earlier, the small towns used to lack many basic facilities but that is not the case anymore. Presently, all big brands, famous school franchises, and big hospital chains have penetrated in the remote locations of our country, bringing them at par with any big city. Moreover, small towns have less pollution and provides clean air to live. For instance, even when the pollution index was highest in big cities like gurgaon or delhi, small towns like Karnal had an AQI level below 100. Furthermore, the recent work from home trend has made it possible to settle anywhere while working for any big organisation which is located in a large city. On the other hand, big cities do look attractive in the first glance, but they come with a lot of drawbacks. In addition to poor air quality, the biggest challenge in such places in too much traffic leading to very long travel time, even within the city. In a city like gurgaon, for example, it takes around 2 hours in peak time to cover a distance of just fifteen to twenty kilometers. Also, big cities have such busy and fast moving life, that no one has time to connect with people around them, which is leading to higher mental health issues in large cities. Clearly, considering the discussed dynamics, it is better to live a simple and healthy life in smaller cities. In conclusion, the debate on quality of life in small cities against the bigger ones has gone on for too long. There is no doubt on the fact that both the option has its own set of benefits. However, in my opinion, small town have many things to offer to help live a better life which are completely missing in the alternate option, and I would anytime choose to live there without any second thought.