Today more people are shopping online than ever before. Why do people choose to shop in this way? Are there disadvantages to shopping online?

With the rapid growth of technology, the trend of online shopping has increased. People can now buy an item from an online store rather than going to a physical store. Though shopping from an online store has certain advantages but it also has some major disadvantages which are described in this essay below. To begin with, there is no doubt about the trend of online shopping and many people prefer online shopping. One of the most important reasons for this trend is that it saves time and effort. Now they can buy products from their home or office just by clicking a few buttons on their mobile phone and the product will be delivered to their doorstep. Secondly, people are also saving money by shopping online by using different offers and rewards. For example, by buying an item of a certain amount they can get discount vouchers which can be used to buy other stuff. Even with all these benefits, there are some serious disadvantages of online shopping. Firstly, large groups can create their monopoly by providing most of the items on a single platform which is disastrous for local vendors and small businesses. For example, most people in the US buy their products from Amazon which is causing losses to local vendors. Secondly, with online shopping people are not able to check their product physically due to which sometimes they will not get the expected product as per the description. For example, last month I ordered a mobile phone accessory from eBay and I expected it to be of superior quality but it has not met my expectations. To conclude, it is true that nowadays many people prefer to buy products online rather than go to a physical store to save their time, effort and money. But with online shopping, there are some disadvantages which are disastrous for local vendors.