n the past, lectures were the traditional method of teaching large numbers of students in a classroom. Nowadays new technology is increasingly being used to teach students. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this new approach in teaching? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

Traditional methods of education have demanded that students attend their classes conventionally in classrooms, However with the influx of technology and with the changing economic climate, young learners have shifted towards an online mode of learning. The conundrum is a result of our advances in tech and the topic will be further described below. Firstly, to begin with, the benefits of technology are vastly beneficial for students, especially in the areas of access to information and the daily commute. Learners now have access to the latest information and renowned lecturers that the previous generations did not have as they were limited by their resources. In addition to that, daily commute which has been an age-old problem for many has seen a steep decline. With the enablement of online education, this requirement has positively affected the lives of many children and families. For example, Children these days have access to international seminars and podcasts featuring some of the brightest minds in the world. On the other hand, change in the conventional setting has left a lasting mark on the economy as we know it and this has removed a sense of community that was previously enabled when teaching was conducted traditionally, in classrooms. Being physically present in a learning setting has proven effects on a young mind and also develops interpersonal skills. For example, it is scientifically proven that a learning environment has vast benefits for learners and also helps to keep them accountable and this is a fact that I can personally vouch for. In conclusion, the influx of technology in the academic setting has transformed the world as we know it with pros in access to information and cons being the loss of community but we can only see how this is to play out in the coming years.