Academic task 2 Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foregin country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

For some people, learning a foreign language is needed when we want to travel or work in a foreign country. These are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language, said others. I believe that people should learn a foreign language not only for work or travel to other countries. The reasons why I support this view will be explained furthermore in the essay. Learning a foreign language only when we want to travel or work in a foreign country for me is like showing unopened minded to a wide range of knowledge. Language is the essential tool for communicating with others. For instance, learning a new language will allow us to have new friends from around the world. And when we can make new friends, we also open a new opportunity in any aspect of life, such as education, or even marriage. On the one hand, I agree that there are so many reasons to learn a foreign language other than only for work or travel to foreign country. As I mentioned before, we can learn a new language to build new chances for our life. For example, if we want to study overseas, the first thing that we need to master is the language of the country. After that, we surely can achieve higher education. Another reason that I found why some people learn a foreign language is because they want to meet their idol someday, then they can have a good chit chat with them. To conclude, learning a foreign language is not only when people want to travel or work in a foreign country. There are many reasons other than that. And I think it is very acceptable for anyone to learn a new language with their personal reasons other than to travel or to work.