In some areas of the US, a 'curfew' is imposed, in which teenagers are not allowed to be out of doors after a particular time at night unless they are accompanied by an adult. What is your opinion about this?

In many parts of the US, adolescents are under the ban, according to which they are restricted to be outside their homes at night after a specific time if they are not accompanied by an adult. In my opinion, this is essential in order to ensure their safety and prevent them from involving in some detrimental activities. Firstly, the safety of the child is of paramount importance for any parent and in some areas, this is compromised during late nights. Furthermore, as per the statistics, some localities and areas have a higher crime rate as compared to others. The miscreants and peccadillos operate at the night after a particular time, hence, in such cases, it is advisable and sensible that teenagers, who are and sometimes volatile in their behaviour in handling such criminals, should be accompanied by an adult to deter the crime and mishap. Further, some areas are prone to accidents mainly due to the rush of heavy good vehicles, so adults’ presence and their driving experience prevent adolescents from any accidental hazards. Moreover, there are many anti-social groups that operate during the night and try to entice young teenagers into activities that are detrimental to them such as drug and alcohol consumption. The presence of an adult or parents dissuades them from approaching the teenager and hence prevents them from getting involved in activities that are baneful for them as an individual, as well as has harmful effects on the society and community. In conclusion, it is pivotal for teenagers’ safety and holistic growth without any interruption that they are accompanied by an adult after a certain time at the night, hence the curfew is rightly justified.