In many workplaces, online communication is now more common than face-to-face meeting. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages

Due to many technological advances and a steep incline in modern forms of communication, individuals are communicating more online, rather than face-to-face. In this essay, we will analyse how the pros can outweigh the cons and why I strongly disagree that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages On the one hand, online interaction has many positives. Firstly, it allows communities and societies to connect on a larger scale, especially during long-distance calls. For example, students that may have gone abroad to study can communicate with their families and friends from back home using platforms such as Skype, Whatsapp and Snapchat. Therefore making communicating hassle-free and readily available as students would not be able to travel back constantly to meet up physically. Secondly, the internet allows for lower expenditures on travel costs. For instance, those employees that had to routinely fly out for business purposes, can now sit in the comfort of their offices and communicate via email or conference calls. On the other hand, face-to-face interaction allows a more physical approach as it allows individuals to be able to read body language. For example, research suggests that verbal interaction is not enough to judge a person, many cues can be identified from body language as well as a person’s habits. Consequently, this allows us to judge people more accurately especially if we are using a dating site. Subsequently, some believe that socialising more online and less physically, can lead to a degeneration of the social skills necessary to engage in real-life interactions. To cite an example, many believe that online interaction requires the majority of a person's life leaving very little time for interaction with family and friends. Thus decreasing social skills. To conclude I do not believe that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages, while social interactions are necessary as they provide support to business and communication overseas, face-to-face interaction should still be the main form of communication.