Some people who have been in prison become good citizens later, and it is often argued that these are the best people to talk to teenagers about the dangers of committing a crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people believe that prisoners who have become productive residents after being given a chance at rehabilitation are the best people to share the threats of committing an offence with young people. From my own standpoint, I totally agree with this idea underpinned by a certain number of reasons below. To begin with, youngsters are more likely to be persuaded by ex-prisoners who directly saw and experienced lives in prison. On the one hand, from an ex-prisoner's perspective, they can share with the youth their informative stories ranging from what drove them to be criminals, how they were caught by the police to what life in prison looks like and, most importantly, how they changed to be good inhabitants, which seems to help young people have a good grasp of what a criminal will experience if he or she commits a crime. With such valuable stories, they are able to convey the magnitude of national laws to teenagers, which act as a deterrent to would-be offenders not to break the laws. From adolescents' point of view, they also tend to be curious about ex-prisoners' stories that they have just read in newspapers or watched indirectly on television before, which ensures a great deal of useful information can be transmitted to young people effectively and efficiently. On the other hand, there are other people like the police or teachers who can talk to the youth about the threats of committing an offence, but it seems not as effective as ex-prisoners. First, the police are normally considered to be on behalf of the authorities; therefore, what they say and share may be questioned by youngsters about how many parts of their talk are unrealistic or overstated. Second, although teachers are the closest people to youngsters, they appear not to be persuasive enough to deliver the dangers of committing a crime to their students effectively when not knowing exactly what offenders experience. In conclusion, I strongly believe that productive inhabitants who used to be in prison are the most appropriate people who can deliver the risks of breaking the law effectively to young people.