In some countries, the difference in age between parents and children is generally greater than it was in the past. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that the age gap between parents and their offspring has become larger in certain nations than it used to be. In my opinion, the drawbacks of this phenomenon outweigh its benefits. On the one hand, residents in developed countries tend to have children at older ages and there are several advantages to this social issue. Firstly, aged parents tend to be well prepared for their children's future in terms of economic status. For example, due to the competitive job market, working adults need a longer time to achieve career success, and some of them would prefer to have children after they have secured a stable job in their careers. Therefore, they could provide a prosperous future for their children. Secondly, mature parents could have better performance in teaching their children because they are more skilful and sophisticated. On the other hand, I think the disadvantages are more significant. This trend has led to a low birth rate in various industrialised nations, which might further result in a lack of workforce. Another drawback would be the difficulty that children may face when they look for a similar topic to talk about with their parents. The generation gap would be a big problem. For instance, when children grow up, especially in their teenage, they need friends and parents to share their emotions. Older parents may feel hard to understand their children's problems and feelings, and this could result in discipline problems. Moreover, an aged pregnant woman would face higher risks when they give birth. Besides, aged parents would have less time to play with their children because they are busy with work. In conclusion, while there are some benefits for elder parents, I believe that a smaller age gap between generations would be better.