Wild animals have no place in the 21st century, so protecting them is a waste of resources. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people would argue there is no room for wild animals to exist in the 21st century and it is not worth consuming resources for their protection. From my own standpoint, I totally disagree with this idea for a certain number of reasons clarified below. To begin with, we, living in the 21st century, have ample spaces and resources that allow us to coexist with wild animals without letting them die out. First, although it is a fact that there are a steadily increasing number of populations around the world in the 21st century, we still have empty areas and regions that humans have no ability to survive and develop due to extreme weather conditions or tough terrains. However, there are a variety of wild animals able to adapt to these kinds of environments; therefore, there is no need to eradicate their lives. Second, the 21st century is a century of technological advancements that has equipped humans with cutting-edge tools to support the belief that human beings and wild animals can coexist on Earth. On the other hand, protecting wild animals indirectly shades humans from health and economic issues. First of all, letting wild animals die out is more likely to disturb the ecological balance and the biodiversity of the natural environment, leading to the breakdown of the food chain. If wildcats, for example, were eliminated from forests and mountains, there would be an outbreak in the number of rats and rat-related contagious diseases would emerge accordingly, which pose a great threat to human well-being around the world. Otherwise, on an economic level, wild animals dying out also means that several countries, specifically undeveloped African countries depending on wildlife sanctuaries as an effective way to create job opportunities for their locals would be put under the intense pressure of high unemployment rate. Simultaneously, a great deal of these countries’ turnover from the tourism industry would also decrease as there are no more tourists travelling to natural sanctuaries when there is no kind of wild animals left. In conclusion, I strongly believe that we humans have sufficient spaces and resources to exist side by side with wild animals in this 21st century as protecting wild animals from dying out is indirectly protecting ourselves.