In some countries, owing a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

In some places, it is common that people would prefer buying a home to renting one due to several reasons. In my opinion, this is an overall negative tendency because of its drawbacks to the development of nations. Admittedly, people who are in favour of owning houses might base their position on the fact that the price of real estate is seriously increasing, thus buying one early can help them to save money or even generate profit from them. This is because the growing population in some countries leads to higher demand for accommodation, especially in big cities. Therefore, the price of houses has been pushed over the last decades. Furthermore, because real estate is valuable and its value rarely decreases with time, this is also an investment. That is to say, many owners can take benefit by renting their houses or selling them to other customers. However, from my perspective, this is an overall trend because it prevents younger generations from having accommodation as well as reduces money for other economic purposes. Regarding the former, more people buying houses results in the unaffordability of many young people for them, resulting in a lack of living places in the future. As for the former, the revenue obtained from selling houses is only advantageous for owners, not the whole economy. Therefore, investment in this category will reduce the chance that other important sectors such as manufacturing can receive an adequate amount of money, which might diminish the development of nations. In conclusion, although many people want to buy houses because it is more financially reliable, doing so could put pressure on future generations for having accommodation and slow down the development rate of nations. Because of the aforementioned reasons, I believe that this trend is overall negative.